White Stripes – Seven Nation Army

[Verse 1]
I’m gonna fight ’em off
A seven nation army couldn’t hold me back
They’re gonna rip it off
Takin’ their time right behind my back
And I’m talkin’ to myself at night because I can’t forget
Back and forth through my mind, behind a cigarette

And the message comin’ from my eyes says, “Leave it alone”
[Instrumental Chorus]

[Verse 2]
Don’t want to hear about it
Every single one’s got a story to tell
Everyone knows about it
From the Queen of England to the Hounds of Hell
And if I catch it comin’ back my way, I’m gonna serve it to you
And that ain’t what you want to hear, but that’s what I’ll do

And the feelin’ comin’ from my bones says, “Find a home”

[Instrumental Chorus]

[Guitar Solo]

[Verse 3]
I’m goin’ to Wichita
Far from this opera forevermore
I’m gonna work the straw
Make the sweat drip out of every pore
And I’m bleedin’ and I’m bleedin’ and I’m bleedin’ right before the Lord
All the words are gonna bleed from me and I will think no more

And the stains comin’ from my blood tell me, “Go back home”

[Instrumental Chorus]

White Stripes - Seven Nation Army

Композиция предстала перед публикой в марте 2003 года в качестве первого сингла из четвертого студийного альбома «The White Stripes». Любопытно, что с самого начала лейбл занял фрондерскую позицию и не желал выпускать эту песню как дебютный сингл, поскольку не выдел в ней коммерческого потенциала. Сам Джек Уайт, многие годы игравший «гаражную музыку», даже и мечтать не мог, что эта композиция проложить для White Stripes дорогу к стадионным аренам. «Seven Nation Army» стала настоящей сенсацией.